Useful Links

Useful Links

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum

The Early Years Foundtion Stage Framework (EYFS)


The Early Years Foundation Stage incorporates birth to the end of the child's Reception year. At Frizington Nursery & Pre-School, some of our children will start their journey from birth and will finish they journey at the end of the School Nursery with the fundamental knowledge/skills that are age appropriate. We ensure that a robust and seamless transition process is in place, so that all children can thrive and continue their EYFS journey into their Reception Year. .

 Parents guide to the EYFS



The EYFS includes seven areas of learning:

The Prime Areas

Communication and language:

  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking

Physical development:

  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skills

Personal, social and emotional development:

  • Self-Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships

The Specific Areas


  • Comprehension
  • Word Reading
  • Writing


  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns

Understanding the World:

  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World

Expressive Arts and Design:

  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive


All staff at Frizington Nursery & Pre-School are fully aware that the Prime Areas are time sensitive and need to be well embedded as early as possible for the children to be able to fulfil their full potential across the specific areas during their Reception year. They are delivered in such a way that they will be fully integrated within the teaching and the continuous provision in the learning environments both inside and outside. They are taught through a balance of adult led and child-initiated activities, with careful observations and assessments being made of each child across each area in order to inform the developmental needs and next steps.


 Useful documents and links; 

Statutory Framework for the EYFS

Statutory Framework for the EYFS